Nebraska Travel Association May 16, 2023 Minutes

President Regina Osburn called the Nebraska Travel Association Board of Directors meeting to order at 4 p.m. May 16, 2023. Present in addition to Osburn were Steve Maly, Traci Jeffries, Brianne Schuler, Kerri Rempp, Anjanette Bonham and director Wendy Kreuser. David Fudge was absent.

Schuler moved and Bonham seconded to approve the minutes from the April 12, 2023, meeting. Voting to approve were Osburn, Maly, Jeffries, Schuler, Rempp and Bonham.

The board reviewed the Legislative Update to be presented to the membership.

Rempp moved and Schuler seconded to approve the financial report, which shows a net income of \$9,255.67. Voting to approve were Osburn, Maly, Jeffries, Schuler, Rempp and Bonham.

Signatures for the bank cards have been updated. Going forward the signatures will be the director, vice president and treasurer.

The board reviewed the proposed budget. Jeffries moved and Bonham seconded to recommend the budget for approval to the membership. Voting to approve were Osburn, Maly, Jeffries, Schuler, Rempp and Bonham.

Jeffries moved and Maly seconded to recommend Karli Schulz, the Nebraska State Fair entertainment director, to the membership to fill the vacancy of a non-DMO position. Voting to approve were Osburn, Maly, Jeffries, Schuler, Rempp and Bonham.

The board agreed to forward the following slate of officers to the membership for the 2023-24 year: Bonham as president, Maly as vice president and Schuler as treasurer.

NETA will host a Best Practices Committee meeting June 5 at 2 p.m.

Osburn adjourned the Board of Directors meeting at 4:44 p.m.

Osburn called the membership meeting to order at 5:06 p.m. The Board of Directors introduced themselves.

Members attending were: Karen Baker, Nebraska B&B & Unique Lodging; JoAnne Hoatson, The Archway; Fred Uhe, Sarpy County Tourism; Cheyenne Rowe, Nebraska Life Magazine; Stacie Wilken, Visit Norfolk; Stacy Miller, Visit Knox County; Shawn Rubek, Keith County Chamber; Stephanie Grafel, Broken Bow Chamber; Dana Jelinek, Grand Island Tourism; Karen Kollars, Nebraska Tourism Commission; Kendra Mitchell, Cheyenne County; Bev Wellnitz, Sheridan County; Bob Sautter, York CVB; Brad Mellema, Grand Island Tourism; Sarah Focke, Kearney CVB; Suzanne Schmidt, Game and Parks; Shirley Wichman, Nebraska Tourism; Jeanna Stavas, Whispering Pines B&B; Robert Sabin, Hilton Omaha; Karli Schulz, Nebraska State Fair; Will Ascarza, Pioneer Village; Patty Glidden, Glidden Canoe Rental; Ken Schlueter, Visit Omaha.; Dakota Hurley, Beatrice; Shannon Wig, Roger Jasnoch; Karla Nieden-Streeks, Gering; Lisa Burke, North Platte, John Ricks, Nebraska Tourism.

Roger Jasnoch and Sarah Focke from Kearney welcomed attendees.

Osburn and Rempp shared memories of Mike Kesselring.

Schuler moved Hoatson seconded approving the consent agenda. All in favor; none opposed.

Osburn gave a legislative update, noting that the brewery bill and gun bill were the first two bills passed this session. The industry worked on a compromise bill and avoided having the state commission put under the Department of Economic Development. Many bills did not make it out of committee, and others are being placed into the Christmas tree bills for final consideration. Interim studies will be important to watch, according to Uhe of the Legislative committee.

Maly reviewed the financial report, pointing out that the silent auction at the 2022 conference was the largest ever and is important to NETA's funding in the future. Legislative Day in 2023 was a joint effort with the Hospitality Association, so costs were minimal. Current assets are \$44,776.29. Uhe moved and Hoatson seconded approving the financial report. All in favor; non opposed.

Maly then reviewed the proposed budget for the FY 2023-24. Baker moved and Hoatson seconded to approve the budget. All in favor; none opposed.

Mellema moved and Baker seconded to approve appointing Karli Schulz to the Board of Directors. All in favor; none opposed.

Baker moved and Wig moved to approve the following slate of officers: Bonham as President; Maly as Vice President; Schuler as Treasurer; Rempp as Secretary. All approved, none opposed.

Bonham presented a gift to Osburn as outgoing president.

Osburn announced the Best Practices Committee date and noted that Karla Nieden-Streeks will lead the meeting.

Osburn adjourned the meeting at 5:40 p.m.